Apple, there’s only so much more of this I can take.

I hate this guy:

Apple and I have an unhealthy relationship.  The company makes products, which I buy.  These products invariably break shortly after the basic warranty runs out, at which point I go ahead and replace it with the updated model.  I am a sucker.  I am the whitest of the white.  I am Apple’s customer base, personified.  They dish it, I take it.

I got an iPod Touch pretty early on, and so I paid for an update so I could use Mail and similar applications once they decided to make it work for the iPod Touch as well as the iPhone.  I ended up being fairly grateful for that, as I used the services a lot.  But now I’m done.

Apple wants to charge me $9.95 to update my iPod to 2.0, so that I can use applications, essentially.  Considering the fact that the applications cost money themselves, I am less than impressed.  It’s not like the iPod Touch was cheap to begin with.

Apple does this crap knowing that the average Apple customer will just put up with it, but why should we?  I was looking forward to Monkey Ball on an iPod and using it as a remote for my computer (I’m one of those people) but I can’t look at myself in the mirror if I hand over a penny for a SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT I SHOULD BE ABLE TO DOWNLOAD FOR FREE.

It’s disgusting, and I’m getting sick of it.  I’m kind of stuck with Apple computers now, and there isn’t an MP3 device that realistically rivals the iPod, but I’m not going to get nickel and dimed like this anymore.  I still love you Apple, but you suck.

3 responses to “Apple, there’s only so much more of this I can take.

  1. I completely agree with you.

    Btw I busted out laughing after the first line of this post. So awesome.

  2. you ARE a sucker. but so are most americans. so, just think of this as becoming more american. which is… probably not comforting.

  3. Perhaps it’s time to sail the seven seas, matey. Join the rest of us fed-up consumers.

Leave a Reply

