Sports Games + GTA = Dead Genre

I’m done with sports games.

I haven’t enjoyed a Pro Evolution Soccer game in three years, and when I got Madden last year I played it for about a week and then stopped.

The fact of the matter is, I just get more enjoyment out of other types of games. And they feel more like videogames in their own right.

I’m not sure if this is the jump to full-time videogame nerd, but I no longer want to plug in a console to try and recreate something that happens in real life.  Rockstar has shown me the way:  when it comes to online, I’d rather decapitate you with the blades of my pilfered helicopter than score a touchdown by fooling you with the play action.

So, I’m done.  Case in point:  I’m playing Lost Odyssey, my first JRPG (Japanese Role Playing Game) in a LONG time.  And it’s fantastic.  And I will finish it.  Thirty hours of game time from now.

I don’t think I’ve spent that much time on a sports game, in single-player at least, since NHL ’06.  Those were the days.

3 responses to “Sports Games + GTA = Dead Genre

  1. writingismybane

    “I’m not sure if this is the jump to full-time videogame nerd, but I no longer want to plug in a console to try and recreate something that happens in real life. ”

    Welcome, we’ve been waiting for you =)

  2. LOL watch out, the pendulum swings both ways! Before you know it you’ll be logging into World of Warcraft just to have a virtual dance party in Stormwind! 😉

  3. Awwww weak, I didn’t know it put pictures in for typed out smiley faces 😦 😛 😉 🙂

    I have to start using my horizontal ones O_o

Leave a Reply

